Polygonic

That weren't no DJ, that was hazy cosmic jive

Some of my best friends are bloggers

Late as always, I’ve decided in the middle of the year 2010 to set up, and hopefully keep up, a weblog for the very first time. Having so far successfully stayed out of the twittosphere, I just could not resist the magnetic pull of this other sphere – the blogosphere – any longer.

Why?

I don’t know.

But here’s a little about what this blog thingy is for – for the most part, I envisage this as being like an all-healing oasis in a desert of broken glass. A whirlpool of glorious light, warm on the skin, spiraling ever-closer from the depths of a once-dark sky.

Either that, or it is a political blog.

I’m a Canadian in the UK with a huge appetite for Canadian and British political to-ings and fro-ings, with a special interest in issues of foreign policy, electoral and constitutional reform, political communication – I’m also quite into international affairs, especially within the Asia-Pacific, Central Asia, and the EU.

I’m not really a one-eyed partisan or a fierce patriot (I’ve got nothing against face-paint during the World Cup though). I prefer the global to the nationalistic, and as for where I sit on the political spectrum, it’s somewhere beneath the right part of the left wing. I call it “the armpit.”

My life isn’t totally focused around this armchair-politico malarkey – there are dinners to cook, music to play, and stories to write! But while I have outlets for those other things, my only outlet for political musings has been on the Globe and Mail comment boards where I go by the name PolyGon. I enjoy the discussions and the occasional sparring match on there, and while running the risk of sounding immodest, I think I’m approximately 100% right 100% of the time.

So here’s the new permanent home of PolyGon, and if it ever feels relevant, I may repost Globe comments here to save me doing a lot of retyping – but fear not if you are already bored to tears by the thought of reading this thing – to spice up this blogging life, I’ll post random bits and bobs of interest, and I do promise to once in a while do something crazy, i.e. post a photo of my dinner, if I think it looks tasty.

Filed under: Canada, Politics, UK, ,

Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Damn statistics

  • 13,060 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

